Alternative Coordinates reviewed

at the Fantasy Book Critic site, by Liviu Suciu

Edited by Jeff Cochran, the new online sff zine Alternative Coordinates has just launched its debut issue available online for a very modest fee. For now the zine is online only with downloadable issues to come shortly.

I am always eager to try new and promising sff zines and this one surpassed my expectations since I liked almost all the stories, with some quite a lot. The first story Bedbugs is free and gives a taste of what’s to come, while the rest of the stories have generous free excerpts. The stories range from planet adventures to near future ones with one fantasy like offering for good measure too.

Read more

Mirror of My Mind by Z.S. Adani – another near future dystopia, this time with an intrusive government, cloning and space colonization; I liked the writing and the premise but the authortried to cram too much into not enough pages and it shows; this one would work much better at greater length and I would not mind a novel based on its premise. Still above average due to very good style.

Not the best review I’ve gotten. The story is from Fragments, the novel I’m revising now.